Young Lawyers Committee


The Young Lawyers section's mission is to further the goal of the National Center for State Courts to improve the administration of justice through leadership and service to the courts The Section accomplishes this mission by working with the Lawyers Committee to:

  • Build public understanding of the need for a strong and independent judiciary.
  • Participate actively in outreach to the bar and legal community on behalf of the NCSC.
  • Create and participate in opportunities for dialogue with state court leaders on judicial reform issues.
  • Encourage financial support for the National Center's programs and initiatives.


Membership in the Young Lawyers section of the National Center for State Courts Lawyers Committee is generally reserved for attorneys 40 years of age or younger or who have been admitted to practice for less than 10 years. Each participating Lawyers Committee member may designate one attorney for membership in the Young Lawyers section. To inquire about participation or refer a member from your firm, please email Janet Reid or call her at (757) 259-1532.


The Young Lawyers section is led by Co-Chairs who are selected by the Executive Committee of the Lawyers Committee. The Co-Chairs provide guidance and general leadership for the operation and activities of the section.

Benefits of membership

Membership in the Young Lawyers section provides an opportunity for public service, networking with senior members of the nation's most prominent law firms and exchange of ideas with state court leaders. Members learn more about the NCSC resources, services and projects designed to strengthen the state judiciaries. Information on educational programs and nation conferences is provided.

Members of the Young Lawyers section have an annual meeting each fall in Washington, D.C. and are invited to participate in the Lawyers Committee annual meeting and the William H. Rehnquist Dinner at the United States Supreme Court.


Brandon Hechtman
Wicker Smith

Micah J. Fincher
Jones Walker


A. Mattison Bogan 
Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough

Molly Q. Campbell
Reed Smith

Yvonne W. Chan
Goodwin Procter

    Heather Choi
    Baker Botts

    Caroline B. Giordano
    Miller Canfield Paddock & Stone

    Jacob M. Heath
    Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe

    Brian T. Kiolbasa
    Lane Powell

    Steven A. Lopez
    Gibbs Law Group

Zachary M. Mandell
Mandell Schwartz & Bosclair

Matthew Pierce
Gordon Tilden Thomas Cordell

Daniel Prince
Paul Hastings

Alex B. Roberts 
Beck Redden

Christopher A. Rojao
McCarter & English

Monica Segura
Rumberger Kirk & Caldwell

Sarah Motley Stone
Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice

Mackenzie S. Wallace
Thompson & Knight